ORPHAN?

Can you become an orphan as an adult? If you can well, it happened to me this year on the 20th of August when my beloved mum died. My dad died years before in 1980, but with the death of my mum, I am parent-less, therefore an orphan. I feel completely alone. I do have other family but losing my mum has been devastating and with the things that have been going on in my family like false accusations and betrayal I feel I have no one else to share it with. Thank goodness for my friends who are always there for me. My lovely best friend, Bev and I are going away for a few days to give me a change of scenery after the funeral and handing over all the paperwork to mum’s solicitors to sort out. The Solicitor told us it would take 3 to 4 months before they get to the stage of paying out so we are looking at December 2015 or January 2016 for finalisation.

I keep thinking about things to tell my mum, seeing programmes on TV that I think she will like. Although towards the end of her life she was definitely losing her mind she still had days of complete lucidity. She had a great deal of wisdom and intelligence gained in 90 years of life and now it’s all gone and I am now head of the family. What a poisoned chalice that is! I hope her spirit chooses to stay with me and help me make the right decisions. One thing, I am released from the promise I made not to leave OLDHAM whilst she was still living. So there world becomes my oyster again! The possibility of going to live in Spain again. Without parents has some advantages then, it would seem.

Leave a Reply

