NaPoWriMo Finishes

aac7474049e499dd79a85031f631dbf3

30th April 2015 arrives and marks the end of NaPoWriMo (National Poetry Writing Month) unfortunately I didn’t finish the 30 poems in 30 days, I managed 15. Not a lot you might think but for me the purpose of NaPoWriMo was to start writing again. So I can claim some success. I also intend finishing the other 15 poems and have set a deadline of the end May, 2015. I am so pleased my muse has returned and I am writing again.

For me, life without writing is a half life. I felt like I had been robbed of my creativity. The reason I couldn’t write was because I was suffering from Depression. I have suffered with it from when I was a teenager. Recently I attended 7 counselling sessions where I was able to examine in detail what was going wrong in my life.I also gained insight into making some new coping strategies. I feel so much better now. Are you suffering from depression? Ask your GP to refer you for counselling also refered to as ‘talking therapy’.

©Carolina de la Cruz – The Vixen of Verse – 2015

Leave a Reply

